The Award

In August of 2015, Fairway Holdings introduced the ‘Fairway National Literary Award’ for authors of the best novels in Sinhala, Tamil and English published in Sri Lanka.

The winner of each category would be awarded Rs.500,000 and up to 5, with a minimum of 3 short listed writers will receive Rs.100,000 each.

Through this recognition and prize, Fairway Holdings hopes to encourage, develop and drive Sri Lankan authors to strive for literary excellence.

The Fairway National Literary Award (FNLA) will be presented annually by Fairway Holdings at the Fairway Galle Literary Festival.

Fairway Holdings believes that all Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) activities should be focused on the development, improvement and betterment of our society at large.

Fairway Holdings carries out many such CSR activities that are focused on supporting and improving community life, education, livelihoods and the fine arts.

Thus the FNLA ties into these ideals. By distinguishing a novel from each language, Fairway Holdings hopes to further bring attention to the diverse literary talents of Sri Lanka.

Find out more by visiting the official website of the Fairway National Literary Award.

FNLA 2016

The Fairway National Literary Awards 2016 got off to a tremendous start for the second consecutive year. Any novel, in any genre, published in Sri Lanka between 1st June 2015 and 31st May 2016 was eligible for entry.

Submissions for this years competition were be accepted up to 05th July 2016, at:

Fairway National Literary Awards Secretariat
The Fairways
100, Buthgamuwa Road

Telephone: 0117586586 or 0774462285.

Applications for entry could be made online and forms can be downloaded on the official FNLA website. Apply Here.

The FNLA 2016 ceremony announcing the winners will be held concurrently with the Fairway Galle Literary Festival in January 2017.

An increased number of entries submitted this year is testament to the wide acceptance that the FNLA has received. The salutary objective of this award is to provide pathways for talented local writers to achieve a level of national recognition and showcase their creative work to a countrywide audience.

FNLA 2016 Shortlist

Fairway National Literary Award 2016 Shortlist

On August 30, 2016 the Shortlist for the Fairway National Literary Award 2016 was announced. The following are the judges selections by language:

Sinhala Language

Tamil Language

English Language

FNLA 2016 Judges Panel

FNLA 2015

Fairway National Literary Award Trophy

The inaugural Fairway National Literary Awards 2015 ceremony that was held in Galle in January 2016 at the Fairway Galle Literary Festival under the patronage of prominent dignitaries with Prof. Maithree Wickramasinghe, wife of the Hon Prime Minister Mr. Ranil Wickramasinghe, being the Chief Guest.

In its inaugural year, a total of 89 submissions were received: 69 in Sinhala, 5 in Tamil and 16 in English. View the entire list of participants on the official FNLA website.

Winners were selected according to the criteria developed by the expert panel of jurors: Lal Medawattegedara, Tissa Jayatilaka, Shyamalee Tudawe, Harshana Rambukwella, Dr. Sunil Wijesiriwardena, Dr. Nirmal Ranjith Devasiri, Prof. Nuhuman, Saminathan Wimal and Dr. Suren Raghavan.

The shortlisted novels in Sinhala and English were:



The jury of the Tamil language category unanimously decided to withhold the award as none of the submissions fulfilled the selection criteria.

‘Maha Sami’ by Sepali Mayadunnage was announced the winner of the in the Sinhala language category. Rizwana Morseth De Alwis’ novel ‘It’s Not In The Stars’ AND Ayathurai Santhan’s novel ‘Rails Run Parallel’ were selected as joint winners in the English language category.

In addition the “Fairway Literary Encouragement Award” was presented to 15 year old Sajani Jayathma Senanayake for her novel ‘The Pearl of Truth’.