The 2018 Fairway Galle Literary Festival is delighted to welcome author Alexander McCall Smith.

FGLF 2018 Particiapant - Author Alexander McCall Smith

Alexander McCall Smith (FYI – “McCall” is not a middle name: his surname is “McCall Smith”) is an Emeritus Professor of Medical Ethics at the University of Edinburgh, and a prolific author of fiction. He has written more than 100 books, including specialist academic titles, short story collections, and children’s publications.

He is known to write at a prodigious rate “Even when travelling, he never loses a day, turning out between 2,000 and 3,000 words a day”, and his novels have been translated into 46 languages, and exceeded 40 million in sales of their English language versions alone.

McCall Smith’s book “The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency” (1998) follows a female detective who begins the first detective agency in Botswana, in the capital city Gaborone, after her beloved father dies. The novel won the National Arts Club of America Medal for Achievement in Literature.

FGLF 2018 Participant Book - The No1 Ladies Detective Agency

Thus far a total of 17 novels in the series known as The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Series” have been published with more than 20 million copies sold in English editions alone, with translations into 40 languages.

A six-episode, television comedy-drama series based on the novels of the same name was aired in 2008 and won a Peabody Award in 2010.

Alexander McCall Smith’s most recent novel, is a wartime romance called “The Good Pilot Peter Wodehouse” (2017). The story which spans the years from 1944-1970 follows Val – a land girl, Mike – a young American airman and Peter Woodhouse – a dog badly treated on a neighbouring farm, who becomes the mascot of the American squad, flying with them whenever their Mosquitoes took to the skies.

FGLF 2018 Participant Book The Good Pilot Peter Woodhouse

Alexander McCall Smith has been awarded thirteen honorary doctorates. In 2007 he was made a CBE in the Queen’s New Year Honours List for services to literature, and in 2011 he received an award from the President of Botswana for his services through literature to that country.

McCall Smith received the US Duke LEAF Award for Environmental Achievement in 2013, and in 2017 he was presented with the National Arts Club of America Medal of Honor for Achievement in Literature.


Alexander McCall Smith’s Events at FGLF 2018:

Learn more about Alexander McCall Smith: